Saturday 22nd June 2024

Nepal’s Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019 Kicks Off!

With the ICC approval, the organizers are planning to hold DPL 2019 during February 9-23, 2019.



Nepal’s Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019 Kicks Off!

After Everest Premier League (EPL) 2018, DPL 2019 joins the list of ICC-approved Nepali annual T20 cricket tournaments.

In an exciting news for Nepal cricket lovers, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has given its nod for the Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019.

With the ICC approval, the organizers are planning to hold DPL 2019 during February 9-23, 2019.


ICC approval to DPL 2019 gave the organizers a chance to involve international players in the tournament to their squads, says Subash Shahi, Chairperson of Dhangadhi Cricket Academy.

Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019

#DPL2019 is going to have six teams playing in it, which include Dhangadhi Stars, CYC Attariya, Rupandehi Challengers, Mahendranagar United, Kathmandu Golden, and Biratnagar Kings.

Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019 Teams

The tournament will see 19 matches in total and individual players for all teams have already been chosen through auction. The DPL tournament runs in a round robin format.

Update: Nepal’s Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019: Series Highlights Day by Day

Rohan Mustafa, Sagar Trivedi Joins Dhangadhi Stars

Nepal is gearing up for the prestigious Dhangadhi Super League starting from February 09-23, 2019. In the latest update for the fast-approaching league, the Dhangadhi Stars have introduced two foreign players in the club, UAE Captain Rohan Mustafa and India’s Sagar Trivedi.

UAE Skipper Mustafa has a track record of playing 27 one-day internationals and 25 T20 international matches for his country.

On the other hand, Trivedi has also played for his national league, India Premier League where he represented Rajasthan Royals.

Meanwhile, Dhangadhi Stars has also chosen Sompal Kami as the marquee player, who will play alongside club members Amit Shrestha, Bipin Khatri, Dipesh Shrestha, Hari Bahadur Chauhan, Pawan Sarraf, and Saurabh Khanal among others.

All That You Need to Know About DPL!

Continuing the streak of being one of the ‘highest cash-prized Twenty-20 franchise league’, DPL organizers have further decided to increase the cash prize for the winning team to NPR 3 billion! The Dhangadhi Cricket Academy has increased the winner’s amount by NPR 500,000, while the runners up alone get NPR 1.2 million.

There’s more! The third and fourth runners-up will also get NPR 400,000 million and 200,000 million, respectively.

The ‘Most Valuable Player’ gets golden shoes and every ‘Man of the Match’ will get NPR 15,000!

Likewise, the organizers have planned prizes for the ‘Man of the Series’, ‘Best Batsman’ and ‘Best Bowler’.

This year Dhangadhi Premier League has a total cash purse of NPR 6 million!

Hosting the event at the new venue, the Fapla stadium has increased the tournament’s overall cost to NPR 50 million. The venue has five playing pitches that were laid down by curators from Mumbai.

Dhangadhi Premier League Nepal

DCA President Subash Bahadur Shahi informed that all preparations for the tournament was completed and they were looking forward to a smooth event.

“We have come up with new experiment in every edition and the third edition is also not going to be an exception. We are hopeful that this edition of the tournament will help in making Nepali cricket more professional. The excitement on the fans are even higher after Nepal’s recent One-Day International and Twenty20 International Series successes against the United Arab Emirates. We are expecting an equally exciting contest this season,” Shahi said at a press conference.

With the Dhangadhi city road expansion project currently in progress, the DCA has coordinated with the Sudur Paschim Transport Entrepreneurs Association, Karnali River Transport Association and Dhangadhi Sub Metropolitan to east access to the stadium and provide free transportation to Fapla Cricket Ground from the Campus road.

The Fapla stadium has a temporary parapet which can accommodate 5,000 spectators. 20 percent of the total ticket revenue will go to the ‘Dream Fapla Project’, while 40 percent will be distributed among the participating teams.

Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019 Series

1) Schedule

Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2019 Fixtures

2) Teams

February 8, 2019 |

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.