Nepal Women’s T20 Squad Announced for Upcoming ICC Tournament



Nepal Women’s T20 Squad Announced for Upcoming ICC Tournament

October 28, 2017

Rubina Chhetry Belbase was selected as the captain of the Nepal women’s cricket team that will compete in the ICC Women’s T20 Qualifiers Asian Region Tournament to be held in Bangkok next month.

Nepal, China, Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates, Malaysia along with hosts Thailand are the six teams competing in a round-robin format for the two spots from Asia in the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifiers, scheduled to be held in the Netherlands next year.

The Team

The 22-member squad includes Sita Rana Magar, Jyoti Pandey, Sarita Magar, Nery Thapa, Roma Thapa, Indu Barma, Karuna Bhandari, Sonu Khadka, Sobha Aale, Nitu Bhandari, Alisha Chhetri, Kabita Kunwar, Binu Budhamagar, Saraswoti Chaudhary, Laxmi Chaudhary, Ritu Kanojiya, Sangita Rai, Anjali Chand, Kajol Shrestha, Rekha Rawal and Sabnam Rai apart from skipper Belbase.

The Selection Panel

ICC representative Aminul Islam headed the selection committee which also included Jagat Tamatta, the head coach of Nepal national cricket team; Samson Jung Thapa, the head of Nepal national women’s cricket team; and Belbase.

Prior to the tournament, the team will travel to Bangladesh for a week-long preparatory camp that includes three practice games.

October 28, 2017 |

Share this post



Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.