Tuesday 16th July 2024

Nepal Supreme Court Directs Government to Remove 20 Cabinet Ministers

The Himalayan country’s political situation is nowhere near stability


Nepal Supreme Court Directs Government to Remove 20 Cabinet Ministers

The Supreme Court of Nepal has directed Prime Minister KP Oli to relieve 20 incumbent central ministers appointed after the House of Representatives dissolution.

PM’s cabinet is left with five central ministers, including Oli himself, taking cognizance of the interim order.

The interim order was issued by a division bench led by Chief Justice Cholendra Rana and Justice Prakash Dhungara. They issued this order after several writs were petitioned against the cabinet expansion, which happened in the initial weeks of June.


Nepal Supreme Court

The writs opined that the government had assumed the caretaker status due to the announcement of elections. This announcement doesn’t allow the PM to appoint new ministers as it infringes upon the constitution.

The remaining cabinet members, other than Oli, are Bishnu Paudel, Basanta Kumar Nembang, Lila Nath Shrestha, and Krishna Gopal Shrestha.

The list of the removed ministers are:

  • Raghubir Mahaseth
  • Rajendra Mahato
  • Khagaraj Adhikari
  • Sharad Singh Bhandari
  • Anil Kumar Jha
  • Sher Bahadur Tamang
  • Raj Kishor Yadav
  • Laxman Lal Karna
  • Nain Kala Thapa
  • Jwala Kumari Sah
  • Bimal Prasad Shreevastav
  • Uma Shankar Argariya
  • Chanda Chaudhary
  • Ekwal Miya
  • Narad Muni Rana
  • Ganesh Pahadi
  • Mohan Baniya
  • Chandra Kanta Chaudhary
  • Renuka Gurung
  • Aasha Kumari BK

Stay Tuned to NepaliSansar for Latest Nepal News Updates!

More News:

June 23, 2021 |

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.