Tuesday 21st March 2023

Nepali Sports Awards: Limbu and Tamang, Nepal’s Best Players of The Year


Nepali Sports Awards: Limbu and Tamang, Nepal’s Best Players of The Year

September 12, 2017

National football goalkeeper Kiran Kumar Limbu and shuttler Nangsal Devi Tamang are the best players of the year, declared the 14th edition of Nepal Journalists Forum (NSJF) Pulsar Sports Award in Kathmandu, yesterday.

The NSJF Pulsar Sports Award 2017, which covered sportspersons in various categories, honored Limbu and Tamang with the ‘Player of the Year’ title in the Male and Female categories, respectively.


Other sportsmen who competed with Limbu in the Male category include badminton’s Ratnajit Tamang, cricketer Sharad Vewaskar, athlete Som Bahadur Kumal and Man Bahadur Shrestha of volleyball.

Whereas, archery’s Gyanu Awale, athletes Kanchi Maya Koju and Saraswati Bhattarai, and football’s Sabitra Bhandari challenged Tamang in the Female category.

Limbu’s mother received the award on his behalf as he has gone for a match in Maldives.

In response to the award, Tamang said, “I was nominated for this award couple of years back, but this time I have finally bagged it. I want to dedicate this award to everyone including my family, coaching team, Nepal Badminton Association and Citizens Bank who have helped me through my career.”

Other Key Titles

While the national volleyball men’s team was declared as the ‘Team of the Year’, athlete coach Pushpa Raj Ojha grabbed the ‘Coach of the Year’ title, Manita Shrestha Pradhan received the ‘Youth Player of the Year’ award and athlete Kanchi Maya Koju won the ‘People’s Choice’ award that was declared on the basis of SMS and Facebook likes.

Meanwhile, Nepal’s first golfer Ghana Shyam Thapa was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award and Padam Badela received the Para-athlete award.

Prisoners Assistance Mission also received a special award on the occasion.

Each of the ‘Player of the Year’ title winners, in both Male and Female categories, were rewarded a Pulsar motorcycle and Rs 50,000 cash prize. Whereas, other sportspersons in the remaining categories received a cash prize of Rs 50,000 per head.

September 12, 2017 |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our Privacy Policy.

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.