Friday 18th September 2020

CPL 2020: Knight Riders Smash St Lucia to Win Title for Fourth Time!

Knight Riders became the first team to win all the 12 matches in a season.




CPL 2020: Knight Riders Smash St Lucia to Win Title for Fourth Time!

Spellbound performances by Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, and Darren Bravo helped Trinbago Knight Riders inflict a crushing defeat on St. Lucia Zouks in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2020 finale on September 10.

Chasing a target of 155, Trinbago sealed an effortless eight-wicket victory with 11 balls to spare, becoming the first team in the history of CPL to win all the matches in an edition. They won all the 12 matches in this season.

The unbeaten 138-run partnership between Lendl Simmons (84) and Darren Bravo (58) boosted Trinbago to win the title for the fourth time in eight editions.

Lendl Simmons

Batting first, St. Lucia got off to a strong start with a 67-run partnership between Andre Fletcher (39) and Mark Deyal (29).

However, Kieron Pollard (4/30), Khary Pierre (0/20), and Fawad Ahmed (2/22) restricted Zouks to 154. The Zouks lost their last six wickets for just 39 runs in six overs.

CPL 2020 Final Scorecard

In response, Trinbago lost the openers Tion Webster and Tim Seifert cheaply, but Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo revived the innings to lead the chase.

During the chase, the turning point was certainly the 17th over bowled by Zouks’ inexperienced Afghan spinner Zahir Khan. He gave 23 runs as Simmons hit a six, and Bravo smashed a couple of maximums in that over. From 41 required off 24 balls, the target came down to a run a ball.

Trinbago Knight Riders CPL T20 Champions

Stay Tuned to NepaliSansar for Live Cricket News!

September 11, 2020 |

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.

Read previous post:
Motihari Amlekhganj Petroleum Pipeline
Nepal Saves NPR 802Mn Freight Charges with Amlekhgunj Petroleum Pipeline

On September 10, 2020, Nepal has marked one year of its inauguration of the Motihari-Amlekhganj petroleum…Read more