Friday 2nd December 2022

Outstanding Nepali Citizens Receive Top Civilian Awards

Nepal’s first elected Prime Minister BP Koirala received the prestigious Nepal Ratna Man Padavi

Outstanding Nepali Citizens Receive Top Civilian Awards

Nepal President Bidhya Devi Bhandari honored several hundreds of Nepalis on September 4, 2018.

344 persons living and dead, received various medals and felicitation for their contributions to the country. The names of the award recipients were announced on Nepal Republic Day 2017.

The following awards were received by various persons:

  • Nepal’s first elected Prime Minister BP Koirala received the prestigious Nepal Ratna Man Padavi, the country’s highest civilian award, according to Nepal Home Affairs Ministry. Siddhartha Koirala, his grandson received the award on BP’s behalf, at a special function in the President’s Office
  • Veteran political leader Mahendra Narayan Nidhi received the prestigious Rastra Gaurav. His son, Congress leader Bimalendra Nidhi received the award for him
  • Five persons, Sheik Idris , Nona Koirala, Amik Sherchan , Barman Budha and Ram Kumar Yadav received the Mahaujjwal Rastradeep Man Padavi
  • Manohar Prasad Bhattarai received the Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep Man Padavi
  • 119 received the Suoprabal Jana Sewa Shree Award, 140 persons received the Prawal Jana Sewa Shree, 21 persons received the Sukritimaya Rastradeep Man Padavi, 45 persons received the Jana Sewa Shree and five persons received the Kirtimaya Rastradeep

Earlier, the government had enlisted 345 persons. However, the Nepal Home Affairs Ministry recently removed Nepal Former Chief Secretary’s name Somlal Subedi from the list. Subedi was among the seven persons who had to receive the Prasiddha Prawal Jana Sewa Shree.

As per an MoHA source, he was removed after he made anti-government remarks recently after the Cabinet recalled his position as Alternative Director at the Manila-based Asian Development Bank.

Nepal Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Nepal Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun were present among the other ministers and chiefs of constitutional bodies at the felicitation program.

Congratulations to all the awardees! We hope that many more people are inspired and motivated to provide their invaluable services to their nation.

September 7, 2018 |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our Privacy Policy.

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.