Tuesday 27th September 2022

Nepal National Assembly: Draw Selects 56 Members for 7 Provinces

The Federal Parliament also saw the election of women representatives for a six-year tenure

Nepal National Assembly: Draw Selects 56 Members for 7 Provinces

The morning of June 18, 2018 kicked off the lottery for some important positions and tenures of Nepal’s National Assembly (NA) ministers. The results of the draw were received among good cheer.

Out of the 59 NA members, while 56 were elected from seven provinces, eight got shortlisted from each province followed by three recommendations nominated by the President.

Results of the Draw


Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa and National Assembly Chairman Ganesh Timilsina received a six-year tenure, while Finance Minister Yubaraj Khatiwada drew a two-year term.

Women Members of the National Assembly

The tenure of Nepal National Assembly’s women members has also been determined through a lottery system.

According to the draw conducted at the Federal Parliament in New Baneshwor, Bina Pokharel, Dil Kumar Rawal, Pramila Kumari, Deepa Gurung, Nanda Chhapai, Anita Devkota and Indu Kadariya have been elected for a six-year tenure.

Following both categories, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Mina Budha, Kamal Kumari Oli, Yutal Tamang and Binda Devi Ale are slated for a two-year term.In a similar way, Shashikala Dahal, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Taradevi Bhatta, Nainkala Ojha, Udaya Sharma Poudel and Komal Oli have been appointed for four-year period.

The Selection Process

Murari Mahat, Joint Secretary at the Parliament Secretariat, refers to Article 86 (3) of the Nepali constitution, which recommends:

Nepal National Assembly 2018

The first parliament formed according to the new constitution determines the tenure of NA members in a way that one-third members provide service for six years, one-third for four years and one-third members fulfill a two-year tenure. Members for the six and four-year terms include 20 members, while two-year term members account for 19 members.

Addressing the media on June 17, 2018, Rajendra Phuyal, Secretary of the National Assembly Secretariat, said the Parliament Secretariat will have boxes for each cluster and members who represent the cluster will have to draw lots from the same cluster.

He further added that there will be different boxes for each cluster, Dalits, differently-abled, women, and people from the minority communities besides separate box for 21 members; three of which from each province, elected from the open category.

June 18, 2018 |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our Privacy Policy.

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.