Friday 31st March 2023

Intra-party Conflict Pushes Samajwadi Party to the Verge of Split!

The feud has deepened after four lawmakers supported Lumbini Pradesh Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel.


Intra-party Conflict Pushes Samajwadi Party to the Verge of Split!

As the rival factions of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) continue to lock horns with each other, the party is in danger of a vertical split.

The intra-party dispute has further deepened after the ‘Thakur-Mahato’ and ‘Yadav-Bhattarai’ factions have failed to abide by each other’s decisions even after multiple party meetings. However, JSP has been pushed to the verge of a split, especially after four lawmakers of the party lent their support to Lumbini Pradesh Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel.

In a bid to clear the air, JSP Chair Upendra Yadav said that the party had taken action against four lawmakers for supporting the CM Pokharel. Countering Yadav, JSP Central Council Chairman Mahantha Thakur said the party has not yet taken any action against four lawmakers.


Nepal Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) Meeting

According to the notice issued by the Province Assembly Secretariat, four lawmakers, including Bijaya Kumar Yadav, Santosh Kumar Pandey, Kalpana Pandey, and Suman Sharma Rayamajhi, have been relieved from their posts, in line with Section 34 of the Political Parties Act, 2063 BS.

The Secretariat also stated that JSP had removed the four leaders from party membership.

However, Chairman Thakur has clarified that the Central Executive Committee of the party has not decided to relieve them of their posts.

The faction led by Upendra Yadav and Federal Council Chairman Dr. Baburam Bhattarai is against PM Oli, and the Thakur-Mahato faction is loyal to him.

Stay Tuned to for Latest Nepal Political News!

April 30, 2021 |

The buddha life journey and significance


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for more inspiring latest news, events, tourism, and more from Nepalisansar.